Support VMS

VMS relies primarily on the financial support from our mentors, mentees, and friends. 
With your gift, you will join other VMS donors, whose commitment to our fledgling businesses has helped drive innovation and fulfill MIT’s educational mission.

Ways you can support VMS


Check [Payable to MIT. Designated to Venture Mentoring Service #2730500]

Donor-Advised Fund [Payable to MIT. Designated to Venture Mentoring Service #2730500]

Planned Gift

Other options


Meet our Donors

Donor Spotlight - Andrea Schievella

A VMS mentor on why she gives back

Andrea Schievella "I’ve been a mentor at VMS for a significant portion of my career, and I’m grateful for the contributions it’s made to my professional growth. I generally focus on healthcare companies and have always found the cutting-edge work of our ventures stimulating. In addition, not being an entrepreneur myself, I’ve learned a tremendous amount about company-building from the team mentoring experience. I think it’s safe to say that most, if not all, of the mentors are here because we truly value what VMS is giving to the world and to us. It’s deeply gratifying to support VMS in its mission to help these creative, dedicated entrepreneurs solve the world’s most difficult problems."

- Andrea Schievella

As President and Head of Business Development of Cancer Research UK’s US office, Andrea supports the commercialization of cancer-related discoveries resulting from the foundation’s annual research investment of ~$400M.  She received her PhD in biology from Harvard University followed by a three-year postdoctoral fellowship at Genetics Institute. Prior to working at Cancer Research UK, Andrea was with the MIT Technology Licensing Office and Variagenics, a personalized medicine company. She has been an active VMS mentor since 2005.


VMS Founders Society
     Securing the vision of our founders, Alec Dingee and Dave Staelin

The VMS Founders Society honors a select group of donors to the VMS Endowment Fund, whose leadership commitment helps to assure the future of our program and serves as a role model for others.

Gordon & Cathryn Baty 
Jeffrey Bernstein 
Susan J. Gray (Mrs. Alexander Dingee, Jr.)
Allan M. Green
Sherwin & Vivian Greenblatt
Steven and Carolyn Kelly           
James Kemler 
Roman Lubynsky & Karen Golz
Morton Meyerson
Silvio Micali
Donald Shobrys & Carol Aronson
Ellen Staelin 
Ray Stata            
Robert Stearns           
Rajeev Surati
Charles & Margo Yie
Todd Zion


VMS Annual Donor Honor Roll

The Venture Mentoring Service thanks the following donors for their generosity this past fund year (July 2022-June 2023).

Susan Gray
Adi Guzdar
Ernest Sabine

Demo Day 2023
Sherwin & Vivian Greenblatt
Roman Lubynsky & Karen Golz
MIT Stex 25
Enrique Shadah*

Operational Support
Jerry Ackerman
Carlton Aird
Roi Amazynowski*
Enrico Ancona
James Barber
Afarin Bellisario
Jeffrey Bernstein
Paul Bosco
Kerry Bowie
Aliki & John Collins
Diana Dabby*
Shivang Dave*
Lucas DiLeo
Kyriaki Dunussi & John Joannopoulos
Michael Foster
Geoffrey Gill
Louis Goldish
Robert Goodof
Robert Gottlieb
Allan Green
Jonathan Green & Jonathan Stone
Sherwin & Vivian Greenblatt
Jerrold Grochow
Joseph Hadzima
James Harrison
John Harthorne*
Paul Hartung
Benjamin Heywood
Catherine Iacobo
Robert Jones
Diane Joseph-McCarthy
Robert Karp & Andrea Schievella
Jonathan Katz
Steven & Carolyn Kelly*
James Kemler*
Charles Kiefer
Lawrence Krakauer
Natalie Kuldell*
Kristin Kupres
Gene Landy
Hikyu Lee
Howard Levin
Jesse Lipcon
Roman Lubynsky & Karen Golz
George Mabry
David Manns
Walter Massenburg
Ali Merchant*
Peter Miller
Alex Min*
Allan Mink II
Kyra Montagu
Quinton Ng*
John Noone
John O’Donnell
Andrew Percey*
Dhananjaya Rao
Thomas Rarich
Neil & Anna Winter Rasmussen
Peter Rosenblum
Daniel Ross
John Rothenberg*
Ernest Sabine
Alexander Sappok*
Ronald Scharlack
Joel Schindall
Richard Scott
William Severns
Donald Shobrys & Carol Aronson
Kevin Sieck
Jeffrey Singer
Stephen Smith
Jerry Socol
Joseph Soussou
Robert Stearns
Emmanuel Stefanakis
Howard Sumner
Bruce Sunstein
Rajeev Surati*
Elliott Swan
Carol Todreas
Bill Townsend*
John Turner & Tee Taggart
James Van Alen
Pierre & Amy Villeneuve
Susan & William Wagner
Melinda Watman
Steven Willis
Charles & Margo Yie
Kambiz Zangi*
Kent Zelle*
Charles Ziering

* VMS alum entrepreneur